The Jerome Turner Community Service Award

This award recognizes an employee of any of the local law enforcement or firefighting agencies who have given extraordinary time and effort in service to the community.

This award is in honor and memory of the late Federal Judge Jerome Turner. He is remembered throughout the community for his life-long pursuit of justice and the very positive impact he had on everyone in the area. Candidates that qualify are screened and one person is selected annually by the Valor Committee. This individual is recognized at the annual dinner in January and presented with a monetary award

2023 Award Winner
Antoine Smith, Memphis Police Department

Previous Winners
2022 – Officer Anthony Green, Bartlett Police Department
2022 – Officer Cassandra Leake, Memphis Police Department
2021 – Driver Samuel Burford and Pvt. Tavio Taylor
2020 – Lieutenant Colonel Dennis McNeil, Memphis Police Department
2019 – Sergeant Craig Littles, Memphis Police Department
2018 – Officer Jeff Gibson, Millington Police Department
2017 – Deputy Donald Thetford – Shelby County Sherriff’s Office
2016 – Officer David Gunter – Memphis Police Department
2015 – Brent Perkins – Shelby County Fire Department
2014 – Todd Conklin – Memphis Fire Department
2013 – Fire Chief Dennis Rutledge – Collierville Fire Department
2012 – Lt. Fred Hughes – Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
2011 – Officer Rebeka Ann Anderson – Bartlett Police Department
2010 – Gerre Houston – Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
2009 – Scott Jones – Germantown Fire Department
2008 – Clint Pope – Memphis Fire Department
2007 – Danny Hopper – Germantown Fire Department
2006 – Paul Douglas Cully – Memphis Fire Department

Your generous donations to are used to present this award.