The Medal of Valor Award

The 100 Club created The Medal of Valor Award in 1993 to honor those Memphis and Shelby County law enforcement officers and firefighters who have performed extraordinary acts of heroism in the line of duty.

The Medal of Valor is the city and county’s highest honor for bravery for police and firefighters. Award recipients are chosen by a selection board comprised of their peers. While four awards are available, the Medal of Valor is awarded only if the selection board believes an individual’s heroism in the line of duty merits recognition. Recipients receive the Medal of Valor medallion, a uniform service ribbon, a framed Medal of Valor, and a $2,500 cash reward. The Medal of Valor Award is presented at The 100 Club’s annual dinner in January.

2021 Medal of Valor Award Winners
Deputy John Glass, Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
Officer Taylor Coleman, Memphis Police Department, Memphis Fire Department

Previous Winners
2019 – Lieutenant Byron Braxton, Memphis Police Department
2017 – Firefighter-Paramedic Stephen Harris, Memphis Fire Department
2017 – Sgt. Verdell Smith, Jr., Memphis Police Department
2015 – Samuel Crews, Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
2013 – Sgt. Jonathan Page – Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
2012 – Timothy Warren – Memphis Fire Department
2009 – Todd Grant – Memphis Fire Department
2009 – Jimmy McCaskey – Bartlett Fire Department
2007 – Officer Patrick Shayne Taylor – Memphis Police Department
2007 – Deputy Patrick E. Talley – Shelby County Sheriff’s Department
2006 – Lt. Russell Kesler – Memphis Fire Department
2006 – Private Keith Burton – Memphis Fire Department
2005 – Officer Gregory Sanders – Memphis Police Department
2004 – Officer Michael Riley – Collierville Police Department
2004 – Lt. Richard Lee – Memphis Fire Department
2004 – Andy Mills – Memphis Fire Department
2003 – Officer Robert L. Whipple – Memphis Police Department
2003 – Officer Brian Spradley – Germantown Police Department
2001 – Officer Horatio G. Pino – Shelby County Sheriff’s Department
2000 – Private Paul C. Walker – Memphis Fire Department
2000 – Patrolman W.E. Blankenship – Shelby County Sheriff’s Department
1999 – Patrolman Glenn Ray Essary, Jr. – Shelby County Sheriff’s Department
1997 – Fred Gilliam – Shelby County Fire Department
1994 – Private Michael A. Baker – Memphis Fire Department
1994 – Private Joe D. Boddie – Memphis Fire Department
1994 – Lt. Larry Anthony – Memphis Fire Department
1994 – Detective Terry B. Bishop – Shelby County Sheriff’s Department
1993 – Patrolman Raymond Baker – Memphis Fire Department

Your generous donations to are used to present this award.